Forshey, Waters inducted into Agricultural Hall of Fame

Portraits of Tony Forshey and Wendell L. Waters

Two out of the four inductees to the 2020 Ohio Agricultural Hall of Fame are alumni of The Ohio State University College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences (CFAES).

Tony Forshey (’77 BS Animal Sciences) and Wendell L. Waters (’69 BS Agricultural Education) were inducted this summer into the hall of fame, which is sponsored by the Ohio Agricultural Council. 

Forshey is Ohio’s state veterinarian and chief of the Ohio Division of Animal Health. He practiced veterinary medicine for 27 years, with an interest in swine production. 

For the past 10 years, Forshey has served as an adjunct professor at the Ohio State College of Veterinary Medicine, where he also earned his DVM. His focus on herd health and disease prevention has been credited with enhancing the growth of the Ohio swine industry.

Learn more about Forshey from this video.


Waters, recognized for championing Ohio farmers for 50 years, is founder and owner of WenMar Farms Inc., which consists of 4,000 acres of corn and soybeans and a 3,600-sow farrow-to-finish hog operation. 

He, along with several others, founded the Ohio Corn Growers Association in 1977. In 1994, Waters was instrumental in the formation of the PGI Group, a coalition of hog farmers dedicated to the betterment of the industry.

This video has details about Waters.


Also inducted into the 2020 class were Joe Cornely and Larry R. Gearhardt.

Ordinarily, the annual induction breakfast is held during the Ohio State Fair, but the council postponed this year’s event after Ohio Gov. Mike DeWine canceled the fair because of the pandemic.