Thirteen Honored at CFAES Awards

2018 CFAES Alumni Awards

On March 3rd, the College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences honored thirteen amazing alumni and friends.  

Award recipients fall into four categories:

  • The Meritorious Service Award is given to alumni or non-alumni who have been singularly significant in CFAES’s quest for excellence.
    • Michael Day, (CFAES faculty emeritus) Laramie, Wyoming
    • Kent Hammond (1972, BS, Horticulture), Wooster, Ohio
    • Dale Seiberling (1950, BS, 1951, MS, Dairy Technology), Granville, Ohio
  • The Distinguished Alumni Award is given to those who have brought distinction to themselves and to CFAES through their commitment and leadership.
    • Clifford Baughman (1959, BS, 1969, MS, Agricultural Education), Saint Paris, Ohio
    • Edison Fowlks (1965, PhD, Plant Pathology), Hampton, Virgina
    • Joel Korte (1987, AAS, Landscape Construction and Contract Technology), Chicago
    • W. Kirk Miller (1970, BS, Agricultural Economics), Fairfax, Virginia
    • Rohini Desai Mulchandani (1976, PhD, Food Science and Nutrition), Worthington, Ohio
    • Carl Zulauf (1973, BS, MS, Agricultural Economics), Nevada, Ohio
  • The International Alumni Award is given to outstanding international alumni representing, supporting and promoting CFAES and Ohio State worldwide.
    • Ming-Tsao Chen (1977, PhD, Animal Science), Taichung, Taiwan
    • Alexander Grobman (1948, BS, Agronomy), San Isidro, Lima, Peru
  • The Young Professional Award recognizes young men and women for their early professional accomplishments.
    • Kevin Fath (2010, BS, Animal Science), Takoma Park, Maryland
    • Nutsuda Sumonsiri (2012, PhD, Food Science and Nutrition), Bang Sue, Bangkok, Thailand

The college also recognized outgoing CFAES Alumni Society Board Past President, Ralph Coffman, and board members who have ended their terms over the past year: Jon Gerken and not present: Jed Bookman, Kirk Glasser, and John Witter.

If you are interested in nominating someone for the 2019 CFAES Alumni Awards, nomination forms and criteria are available. 

Pictured above are (front row, from left) Alumni Board President Cyndi Brill, Dale Seiberling, Ming-Tsao Chen, Alexander Grobman, Clifford Baughman, Dean Cathann Kress, Rohini Desai Mulchandani, Edison Fowlks. (back row, from left) Michael Day, Kent Hammond, Carl Zulauf, Joel Korte, Kevin Fath, W. Kirk Miller. Not pictured: Nutsuda Sumonsiri.

See more photos of the event.