Meet the 2022 CFAES Alumni Award winners!

Alumni Awards displayed on a table with a red and black design

After receiving numerous nominations and deliberating for weeks, the CFAES Alumni Society Board has announced the 2022 CFAES Alumni Award honorees. Here they are:

Meritorious Service Award

Steve Loerch, Senior Associate Dean of the College of Agricultural Sciences at Penn State University, previous CFAES faculty member for 30 years 
Pamela Thomas, MS ’90 Rural Sociology, retired CFAES Program Manager of Student Success and the Office of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion 
Henry Zerby, Vice President for Supply Management of Foods with Sodexo, previous CFAES faculty member for 17 years

International Alumni Award

Lucas de Araujo Souto, MS ’10 Animal Sciences
Ilhami Yildiz, MS ’87 Agronomy, PhD ’93 Agricultural Engineering 

Young Professional Award

Stephanie Langel, BS ’11 Animal Sciences 
Wendong Zhang, PhD ’15 Agricultural Economics

Distinguished Alumni Award

David Brown, BS ’62 Dairy Technology
Keith Howard, PhD ’89 Plant Pathology 
Juan Moreno, BS ’88 Dairy Science
Alexandre Pires, PhD ’94 Ruminant Nutrition, and Ivanete Susin, PhD, ’94 Ruminant Nutrition
Bill Tom, BS ’87 Animal Sciences 
Robert Torres, PhD ’93 Agricultural Education 

Please join us in congratulating the honorees and thanking them for all they do for the college and the community. 

These 14 wonderful alumni and friends will be honored at the annual CFAES Alumni Awards Luncheon March 2022.  

If you know someone who should be considered for a future Alumni Award, nominations for 2023 are now open. Click here to nominate a deserving alum.