Alumni Awards and Recognition

Awards and Recognition CFAES Alumni Awards Program

The CFAES Alumni Society sponsors an annual awards program to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions throughout their careers.

Nominations for the 2023 awards have closed.

It's not too early to start thinking about nominations for the 2024 awards! The deadline for nominations is January 31, 2024.

If you are interested in nominating someone for the 2024 CFAES Alumni Awards, criteria are available here.

2024 Alumni Award Online nomination form is available here

2023 award winners can be found below, they will be honored at a ceremony during Homecoming Weekend, October 7, 2023. 

2023 Honorees

Meritorious Service Award

Keith Smith

Distinguished Alumni

Jim Chambers (Agricultural Economics)
Brad Moffitt (Agricultural Education)

International Alumni Award

Chris Burke (Animal Dairy and Poultry Science)

Young Professional Achievement Award

Bailey Harsh (Animal Sciences) 

See below for a description of the awards and links to the lists of past recipients

Individuals receive recognition in four categories:

Meritorious Service Award: The purpose of the Meritorious Service Award is to give public recognition to non-alumni and/or alumni of the college who have been singularly significant in the college’s quest for excellence.

Distinguished Alumni Award: The Distinguished Alumni Award gives public recognition to those who have brought distinction to themselves and the college at large through their participation, commitment, and leadership.

International Alumni Award: The International Alumni Award is presented to outstanding international agriculture alumni representing, supporting, and promoting the college and The Ohio State University around the globe.

Young Professional Achievement Award: The Young Professional Achievement Award recognizes alumni for their early professional accomplishments. This award provides recognition for these individuals and serves as a stimulus toward further efforts by younger alumni. Nominees are to be 35 years of age and younger at the time of receiving the award.  

**Individuals who have received an award in one alumni award category are not eligible to receive the same award. Click the category names below to see past recipients.

Past Recipients

Meritorious Service

Distinguished Alumni

International Alumni

Young Professional Achievement