Alumni Awards and Recognition

Awards and Recognition

CFAES Alumni Awards Program

The CFAES Alumni Society sponsors an annual awards program to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions through their careers.

Award winners will be honored at a luncheon March 6, 2021 at the Fawcett Event Center.

The nominations for the 2021 Alumni Awards have closed as of June 30, 2020.  Nominations are currently open for the 2022 Awards.  

If you are interested in nominating someone for the 2022 CFAES Alumni Awards, criteria are available here.

2022 Alumni Award Online nomination form is available here

2020 Honorees

Meritorious Service Award

Dr. Jerry Bigham (Professor Emeritus)
Dr. William Hildebolt (BS, Food Technology Agriculture; MS & PhD, Horticulture)

Distinguished Alumni

Dr. Jeffrey Dickinson (BS & MS, Horticulture; PhD, Entomology)
Elizabeth Guertal (BS & MS, Agronomy)
Dr. Robert Joseph (BS, MS & PhD, Horticulture)
Bruce Kettler (BS, Agronomy)
Lou Kozma Jr. (BS, Horticulture)
Dave Richards (ASC, Nursery Management Technology)

International Alumni Award

Dr. Mauricio Bittencourt (PhD, Agricultural Economics)
Dr. Luiz Lucchesi (PhD, Agronomy)

Young Professional Achievement Award

Clifford Greer (BS, Construction Systems Management)
Sarah Herringshaw (BS, Animal, Dairy & Poultry Science)

It's not too early to start thinking about nominations for the 2022 awards! The deadline is June 30, 2021.

See below for a description of the awards and links to the lists of past recipients

Individuals receive recognition in four categories:

Meritorious Award: The purpose of the Meritorious Service Award is to give public recognition to non-alumni and/or alumni of the college who have been singularly significant in the college’s quest for excellence.

Distinguished Alumni Award: The Distinguished Alumni Award gives public recognition to those who have brought distinction to themselves and the college at large through their participation, commitment and leadership.
International Alumni Award: The International Alumni Award is presented to outstanding international agriculture alumni representing, supporting, and promoting the college and The Ohio State University around the globe.
Young Professional Achievement Award: The Young Professional Achievement Award recognizes alumni for their early professional accomplishments. This award provides recognition for these individuals and serves as a stimulus toward further efforts by younger alumni. Nominees are to be 35 years of age and younger at the time of receiving the award.  
Individuals who have received an award in one alumni award category are not eligible to receive the same award. Click the category names below to see past recipients.

Past Recipients

Meritorious Service

Distinguished Alumni

International Alumni

Young Professional Achievement